Flowers

Flowers

Carpe Diem Tokubetsudesu #47 flowers chiyo   Chiyo-Jo was one of the most famous haiku poetess.  She was also a gifted artist.

The morning glory!
It has taken the well bucket,
I must seek elsewhere for water.    
© Chiyo-Ni (Tr. Patricia Donegan)

some other translations for the same beautiful haiku

A morning glory.
Twined round the bucket:
I will ask my neighbor for water

~~~

the morning glory-
the well-bucket entangled
I ask for water

____________________________________________________

My attempt:

in the early dew
my lilies choked
by morning glories

~~~

petals unfurl
catching the dew
before the sun

 ~~~

giant sunflowers
ripened heads bowed
offering for birds

2 thoughts on “Flowers

Leave a Reply

