Out of the Washbowl

Out of the Washbowl

Carpe Diem Tan Renga Challenge #96 Sumitaku Kenshin’s out of the washbowl

 Sumitaku Kenshin (1961-1987), who died, just before turning 26, of acute myeloid leukemia, devoted the last 20 months of his life to haiku.  My own brother died of the same disease at the age of 13 in 1978.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

out of the washbowl
I scoop up,
my distorted face                                     (Sumitaku Kenshin)

the last of my sorrow
washed  and hidden away

          ~~~~~

out of the washbowl
I scoop up,
my distorted face                                     (Sumitaku Kenshin)

I reapply my mascara
and put on a painted smile

Leave a Reply

